Skip to main content

OpenGeoHub – an independent research foundation

About us

OpenGeoHub is a not-for-profit research foundation with headquarters in Wageningen, the Netherlands (Stichting OpenGeoHub, KvK 71844570). The main goal of the OpenGeoHub is to promote publishing and sharing of Open Geographical and Geoscientific Data and using and developing of Open Source Software. We believe that the key measure of quality of research in all sciences (and especially in geographical information sciences) is in transparency and reproducibility of the computer code used to generate results. Transparency and reproducibility increase trust in information so that it is eventually also the fastest path to optimal decision making.

CRKBO logo

OpenGeoHub is a registered education institution under the Dutch Centraal Register Kort Beroeps Onderwijs (CRKBO).

Promote best practices

Our aim is to create and maintain a community that identifies, promotes and adopts best practices for the analysis of spatial and temporal data and the distribution and use of spatial data products.

Promote Open Data

We promote and actively support the production, sharing and use of Open GeoData (based on the Open Knowledge Foundation licenses). We provide platforms, tools, standards and training to encourage and support Open Geodata and reproducible research shared using open web services and open standards.

Provide training and networking

We help researchers grow by connecting them with peer networks, helping them improve their programming skills, and helping them to make their research more open and reproducible. We aim especially to encourage and empower under-represented researchers (e.g. those from ODA recipient countries and female researchers).

Serve decision makers

We aim to provide all users (governmental and non-governmental organizations, private sector companies and the general public) with easily accessible and trustworthy Open Geographical Environmental Data, fully documented, peer reviewed and reproducible.

OpenGeoHub Management Board


OpenGeoHub Scientific Committee